A bit about my writing

I thought before I started posting some stories, I had best introduce myself as a writer.

Hello, and welcome to my blog. I am your host, Bo Beaufill.

Ever since I was a kid, I knew that I wanted to write. I remember sitting at the window during a storm when I was eight and writing poetry about the storm rolling through. And when I was nine, my best friend and I wrote a short book we shared with everyone in the school. When I was ten and beaten in school, I wrote a fair sized book to get me through.

Ever since primary school, writing has been my therapy.

This continued, of course. I wrote my first novel two years ago and even got it to the editing stage. I didn’t publish it. I’d grown too much in the time it took, and the story didn’t feel like something I wanted the world to know me by.

Around that time, I developed severe OCD, though it was a very acute and specific version, not the typical ‘I must clean everything’ type. I had to count everything and make it equal four by whatever means necessary. ┬áThis included text. Long story short, soon after developing this condition, I stopped being able to read. Yikes. And because of this, I gave up writing and reading.

Fast forward to six months ago, I still have OCD. But I’m sick of not being able to do what I love. I sign up to a course and get back into it. Since then, I have written and published several articles in a local paper, started my second book, been offered a job in media and received only A and A+ grades in my course.

And I’m happy.

So once again, welcome to my blog.

 

Leave a Reply

